A Book Launch, A Co-Write and A Rediscovered Song

Hi There.  I hope this finds you well.  Did anyone else blink and miss the Summer?  With a five year old about the two months of Summer Holidays seemed like a crazy whirlwind with a bit of sleep here and there to break it up….to me anyway.  There were beaches, parks and late nights, but no lie in’s strangely enough.

In between the mayhem I was lucky enough to be involved with some great events.  The first….being asked to play at the Book Launch of brilliant Crime Fiction Novelist Stuart Neville.  His new Book “The Final Silence” was launched in ‘No Alibis’ Book Shop, Belfast, in July.  Stuart asked me to play a few songs at the launch and I was so excited.  Not least because he and I played a few songs together.  (Quite) a few years back Stuart played guitar along with me and we had many adventures all over the country, including playing Glasgowbury Festival, The Ruby Sessions (Dublin) and performing live on Radio (U105 etc), so I was really looking forward to the reunion, and I had a ball.  A picture tells a thousand words…….

66137_10152168096572060_965393602453492977_n Stuart and Nina Harmonica Stuart and Nina Laughing Stuart and Nina Serious

 

And a video gives a bit more insight. Click here to catch a snippet of Stuart and I.  Thanks to Gerard Brennan (Author) for capturing some of the craic!

The pictures are courtesy of Ruairi O’Hare, and talking of Ruairi, himself and myself have been writing together a bit over the Summer.  Fingers crossed there may be a wee preview in the next blog post when we get it recorded….I love recording (sorry that was uncalled for sarcasm but it’s seriously the only experience that gives me sweaty palms and I get all grumpy and cry and there is hair and tears everywhere….I wish this were an exaggeration)  Aside from that it’s been really good co-writing with Ruairi.  It’s not something I’ve done a lot of.

However!  I was recently sorting through my medium sized, rather random CD collection (found some Destiny’s Child and Justin Timberlake in there) and I came across a CD in a see-through case.  The handwritten information on the CD read “Broken Wings Broken Hearts : IMRO : Feb 2004 : Ian Smith : Nina Armstrong” When I first started singing and writing songs I (nervously) attended a few IMRO Songwriting Workshops.  They were brilliant and I have some class memories.  So I thought, for a laugh, I would include a link to this wee tune I found.  It was written and recorded in one day, in a hotel room, 10 years ago.

Broken Wings Broken Hearts

In August I was lucky enough to take part in the Maiden City Festival as part of Culture Bites.  During the week Singer/Songwriters play over lunch time in several different Cafe’s throughout the City.  This is the Third year I’ve taken part and I absolutely love it.

Anyway, I reckon that’s all the gossip for now…

Thanks for reading/listening/looking.  Enjoy the leaves turning all sorts of lovely colours 🙂

Nina x

About Nina Armstrong

“Feisty singer-songwriter” – Jackie Hayden (Hotpress Magazine) “You are an inspiration – keep shining” – Liam Ó Maonlaí With lyrics which are honest and emotive and a voice which is clear and at times hypnotic, Nina Armstrong is a delightfully unique artist. In her mid-twenties Nina decided to follow a long standing dream of writing and performing her own songs.She decided to learn to play guitar to enable her to develop her songwriting skills and perform live. Within two years Nina had a string of live performances, on stage and on radio, throughout Ireland. She had also recorded a four track EP and had shared the stage with artists such as Liam O’Manolai (Hot House Flowers), John Spillane and Jenny Lindfors. Some other highlights in her career include playing Glasgowbury Music Festival (Draperstown), The Ruby Sessions (Dublin) and Indie Summer Festival (Carrick-on-Shannon). Nina also performed vocals for MTV EMA winner, Tyrone Relph on his album “Princely Ransoms from a Paupers Address”. Her vocal style and lyrical content have been likened to that of Suzanne Vega and Joni Mitchell, however, anyone who hears her music will have difficulty finding a box to put it into. Nina lives in County Armagh, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in music, Nina Armstrong Blog, original, singer, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Book Launch, A Co-Write and A Rediscovered Song

  1. filcampbell says:

    Sounds like a really good Summer Nina 🙂 Those IMRO workshops were simply brilliant weren’t they?

Leave a Reply

